Select Page

Opus Two at Schmitt Music Denver

Join us for “An Evening with Opus Two” – violin & piano duo – FREE CONCERT!

Opus Two has been internationally recognized for its “divine phrases, impelling rhythm, elastic ensemble and stunning sounds,” as well as its commitment to expanding the violin-piano duo repertoire. Comprised of award-winning musicians violinist William Terwilliger and pianist Andrew Cooperstock, the duo is hailed for its “unanimity of style and spirit, exemplary balance and close rapport.” Learn more on Opus Two’s website:

Thursday, March 13 at 7pm at Schmitt Music Denver

To RSVP or for more information, please call 303-777-1900 or .



PROGRAM: Music of George Gershwin (1898 – 1937)

Selections from Porgy and Bess (1935) (arr. Jascha Heifetz)

  • Summertime / A Woman Is a Sometime Thing
  • My Man’s Gone Now
  • Bess, You Is My Woman Now
  • It Ain’t Neccessarily So
  • Tempo di Blues

Short Story, for Violin and Piano (1927)

Three Preludes for Piano (1927) (arr. Jascha Heifetz)

  • I. Allegro ben ritamato e deciso
  • II. Andante con moto e poco rubato
  • III. Allegro ben ritmato e deciso

Excerpts from An American in Paris (1929) (arr. Jascha Heifetz/Ayke Agus)

Suite from “Girl Crazy” (1930/2012)* (arr. Eric Stern)

  • “Bidin’ My Time”
  • “But Not for Me”
  • “Embraceable You”
  • “I Got Rhythm”

*Commissioned by Opus Two